top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew McCarthy

My Excitement for 'Corpse Party (2021)'

This 2021 remaster of "Corpse Party" is a huge deal to me as a "Corpse Party" fan, so let me explain why.

Warning: While this article doesn't have any spoilers for "Corpse Party," some hyperlinks could potentially lead to spoilers. Just be careful when browsing the provided hyperlinks.


For anyone unaware, "Corpse Party (2021)" was announced Friday last week for an English release on PC and modern consoles, releasing in eight days. My article on the news has more details.

Now, I'm a huge "Corpse Party" fan. I've been in love with this series since 2012, and I love all the games I've played in the series. From "Corpse Party" on the 3DS to "Corpse Party: Blood Drive."


From the descriptive horror that makes you regret having an imagination, to the interesting characters and fascinating story, to the art style and cinematic graphics, the music, and so much more. I'm not usually a horror fan, but the horror grips me with its descriptive style while having very few jumpscares.

[Credits: Okaminarutofan999 (First picture), DommyDomDom (second, third, and fourth pictures)]


While it's far from perfect, honestly it makes some huge mistakes, it's still a series I hold close to my heart and still does a lot right. So naturally, when I heard about the 2021 remaster, I was ecstatic for a multitude of reasons.


That might seem odd given I already own "Corpse Party" for the 3DS, however there are multiple reasons to be excited for the 2021 version.


Better Availability


One of the problems with recommending the first "Corpse Party" game was that it wasn't on many consoles. It was only available on PlayStation Portable, IOS, and the Nintendo 3DS.

[Credits: Amazon (PSP and 3DS) and the Apple Store (IOS)]


These are perfectly fine consoles, but when is the last time you've heard someone talk about the PSP? This article doesn't count.


Additionally, not everyone is comfortable with playing games with the touch controls on IOS. As for the 3DS, I'm honestly not sure. I can only think of situational reasons like "Corpse Party" being the only game someone would want on the 3DS and whatnot. Regardless, the limited availability led some people to pirate the game unfortunately.


"Corpse Party" was only regulated to portable systems. These are not games you want to play in public.

Despite being horror, it still has lewd fanservice moments that you don't want strangers walking in on.


While it's true there is a "Corpse Party" on Steam already, and has been there since 2016, that's the original 2008 PC version which is fine on its own, but is outdated. The 2008 version lacks cinematic graphics, inferior portraits that are too cutesy, less-detailed visuals, and different lighting that isn't as effective.


That's not to say it's bad, it still has the same riveting characters, story, and gameplay as the PSP/IOS/3DS versions. I just can't recommend it, which is maddening when it was the most accessible version of the game legitimately for five years.


I say this not only because of the inferiorities of the 2008 version, but because if anyone intends to get into the other "Corpse Party" games, going from the PC version to "Book of Shadows" can be jarring due to the different voice cast and art style.


This is the main reason why "Corpse Party (2021)" is amazing news. With "Corpse Party" being available on every platform next week, it'll be more accessible legitimately than it ever was before. This also means the series is overall easier to recommend since most of the "Corpse Party" titles are on Steam, excluding the PC-98 game.


Completing my "Corpse Party" Steam Collection


I'm not usually much of a collector, or at least one that wants to complete their collection. My most complete collection is my oxygen collection.

I know, it's beautiful. However, I'm compelled to get "Corpse Party (2021)" to complete my collection of "Corpse Party" games, despite having the first game for the Nintendo 3DS.

My Steam "Corpse Party" games. [Screenshotted by: Matthew McCarthy]

I mean, look at it, my Steam Library looks so... Empty without the first game.


In all seriousness, I think this feeling is because of how much I love the "Corpse Party" series, so I want to have them all next to each other on my Steam account. At least, the games I have in the saga connecting these four games.


More Content


The brand-new content well for "Corpse Party" has been quite dry since 2016 for Japanese fans, since the last thing they got before 2021 was the live-action "Books of Shadows" movie.

For English fans, our brand-new content well dried up in 2019 after the Steam ports and localizations of "Corpse Party 2U" and "Corpse Party 2: Dead Patient."

[Credits: The respective Steam Store Pages for "Corpse Party 2U" and "Corpse Party 2: Dead Patient"]


After 2019, not much until 2021. For Japanese fans, there was around five years of no new "Corpse Party" content until the 2021 remaster released earlier this year in Japan. That's more then one high school/junior high complete experience for Japanese students... Just ignore the fact the age rating so this analogy works, please.


For English-speaking fans, it was two years until the localization was announced last week, which isn't as bad, but it's still a long time.


Thankfully, "Corpse Party (2021)" includes brand-new content in two new extra chapters, one of them involving two new characters: Ryoka Iwami and Miku Shirayume.

While it isn't much, it's still great to see brand-new content. The extra chapter with Ryoka and Miku is also interesting as it takes place in 2020. It'll be interesting to see how "Corpse Party" tackles 2020 both in terms of utilizing modern technology and lore-wise as the events of "Corpse Party" take place in 2008.


Higher Resolution Cinematic Graphics


There isn't much to say with this one. I like the CGs of "Corpse Party." the PC ports of the "Corpse Party" games increase the quality and resolution of the CGs.

[Credits: DommyDomDom for the first screenshot, the "Corpse Party (2021)" Steam Store Page for the second screenshot]


Colours pretty. Although, on a more serious, it'll great to see these CGs that me and other "Corpse Party" fans have seen so many times in a higher resolution so we can notice all the finer details.


Closing Thoughts


Overall, I'm extremely excited for "Corpse Party (2021)" and plan on buying it on Steam. I don't have any worries about the port, since the Steam ports of the other "Corpse Party" games run smoothly from what I’ve experienced.


I also can't see how a RPGmaker game being remastered would break/perform poorly on modern hardware. I think the universe forbids that.


The pricing is also good too, being at $19.99USD, with a 10 per cent discount at launch. It's unknown what the Canadian pricing will be yet, I can only guess it'll be around $22.79CDN like "Sorcery Saga: Curse of the Great Curry God," which is $19.99USD.

Comentarios


bottom of page